Iconic Soul Tees by Skoolwerk Apparel – Restock Alert

Iconic Soul Tees Available Now!
Iconic Soul Ladies Tee

Iconic Soul Men Tee

Iconic Soul Tees by Skoolwerk Apparel are back in stock! Order your tees today at SkoolwerkApparel.bigcartel.com.  

New Arrival – Royal Blue Iconic Soul Men Tee


Liner Notes:

Iconic Soul Men was created to celebrate the work and impact of Stevie Wonder, Donny Hathaway, Curtis Mayfield, Isaac Hayes and Marvin Gaye. These five legendary soul singers and the music they created has stood the test of time generation after generation. Their style and creative vision has become a blueprint for soul music makers today.

100% Fine Jersey Cotton Tee-Shirt
Royal Blue w/ White Print

We Use American Apparel



Donny Hathaway: Never My Love: The Anthology (Four-Disc Set)


Not sure what to buy with your holiday gift cards? Take a look at this Donny Hathaway definitive box set that was released in November by Rhino Records.  Donny Hathaway fans can now own this four-disc anthology that features the soulful singer-songwriter’s essential solo tracks and duets with Roberta Flack along with two full discs of previously unreleased studio and live recordings.  Most Donny Hathaway fans like myself already own his short but unforgettable Atlantic Records discography from the 70s.  We’ve also kept a watchful eye on the Donny Hathaway single disc compilations over the years in hopes of discovering some unreleased material added to the discs.  Now with Never My Love: The Anthology we get two full discs of unreleased studio and live recordings making this a wise and exciting investment and everything a fan could hope for.  It’s time to discover the life and music of Donny Hathaway that we’ve never heard before!

Rhino Records Press Release: November 2013

LOS ANGELES – A gifted musician, imaginative arranger and powerful singer, Donny Hathaway created a formidable musical legacy during an intensive three-year period that was punctuated by a string of pop and R&B hits – several as a solo artist, as well as a series of unforgettable collaborations with singer Roberta Flack. Although Hathaway’s promising career was sadly derailed with his tragic passing in 1979, his lasting influence on popular music remains immeasurable today.

To underscore Hathaway’s continuing impact, Rhino will release a four-disc retrospective that combines the singer-songwriter’s essential studio and live tracks with 23 previously unreleased recordings. The boxed set also includes an extensive, illuminating essay about Hathaway’s life and music written by noted music journalist Charles Waring as well as rare photos. NEVER MY LOVE: THE ANTHOLOGY will be available on November 12 for a list price of $49.98. A digital version will also be available.

The first disc retraces the arc of Hathaway’s career, which began in St. Louis, where he grew up entertaining church audiences across the Midwest with his soulful renditions of sacred songs. Years later, he scored arrangements and played sessions for Curtis Mayfield’s record label, an experience that eventually led to his first single, “I Thank You Baby” – a song he wrote with Mayfield and performed with June Conquest. Appropriately, it’s featured here as the set’s first song. The rest of the disc includes selections from three studio albums – Everything Is Everything (1970), Donny Hathaway (1971) and Extension of a Man (1973) – and the soundtrack Hathaway recorded for Come Back Charleston Blue (1972). Among the standout tracks are: “Giving Up” featuring saxophonist King Curtis, his signature cover of Leon Russell’s “A Song For You,” the rare promo edit of “Thank You Master (For My Soul)” and Hathaway’s final hit single, “You Were Meant For Me.”

The next disc uncovers 13 unreleased studio recordings spanning a full decade (1968-1978) including several tracks from the mid to late 1970s, often thought to be a period of musical hibernation for Hathaway. Among the unheard gems are: “Never My Love,” a song recorded shortly after the sessions for Extension of a Man; “A Lot Of Soul,” a Nashville-flavored track that recalls Hathaway’s arrangements for Willie Nelson’s Shotgun Willie; plus “Zyxygy Concerto,” an epic classical piece that features piano and a full orchestra.

The third disc expands upon the gold-certified album Live (1972), a widely acclaimed collection of Hathaway’s electrifying performances recorded in clubs in L.A. and New York. A few performances left off the original album have surfaced over the years, but nothing like the trove featured on NEVER MY LOVE. The set includes 10 previously unissued live recordings from Hathaway’s residency at The Bitter End in New York’s Greenwich Village. These tracks include a brilliant version of the soul anthem “What’s Going On” and an incendiary take on “Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything).”

The final disc covers the many memorable hits recorded by Hathaway and Roberta Flack, one of the 1970’s most successful musical partnerships. They scored three certified-gold singles together in the ’70s: “You’ve Got A Friend” (#8 R&B/#29 pop) and “Where Is The Love” (#1 R&B/#5 pop) from the bestselling LP Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway, plus the immortal “The Closer I Get To You” (#1 R&B/#2 pop) from Blue Lights In the Basement. And in 1980, a year after Hathaway’s death, they returned to the charts again with “You Are My Heaven” (#8 R&B/#47 pop) and “Back Together Again” (#18 R&B/#56 pop), two tracks from Roberta

Track Listing

Disc One: The Life and Music of Donny Hathaway
1. “I Thank You Baby” – June & Donnie
2. “Just Another Reason” – Donny Hathaway & June Conquest
3. “The Ghetto – Part 1”
4. “The Ghetto – Part 2”
5. “Thank You Master (For My Soul)” – Promo Edit
6. “Voice Inside (Everything Is Everything)”
7. “Tryin’ Times”
8. “To Be Young, Gifted And Black”
9. “I Believe To My Soul”
10. “This Christmas”
11. “A Song For You”
12. “Magnificent Sanctuary Band”
13. “Giving Up”
14. “Come Back Charleston Blue” – Donny Hathaway With Margie Joseph
15. “Little Ghetto Boy” – Studio Version
16. “Valdez In The Country”
17. “I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know”
18. “Lord Help Me”
19. “Come Little Children”
20. “Love, Love, Love”
21. “Someday We’ll All Be Free”
22. “You Were Meant For Me”

Disc Two: Unreleased Studio Recordings
1. “Never My Love” *
2. “A Lot Of Soul” *
3. “Let’s Groove” *
4. “Latin Time” *
5. “Tally Rand” *
6. “Memory Of Our Love” *
7. “Sunshine And Showers” *
8. “After The Dance Is Done” *
9. “Don’t Turn Away” *
10. “Always The Same” *
11. “Brown Eyed Lady” (Instrumental) *
12. “The Sands Of Time” *
13. “Zyxygy Concerto” *

Disc Three: Live at The Bitter End 1971
1. “What’s Going On” *
2. “Sack Full Of Dreams” *
3. “Little Ghetto Boy” *
4. “You’ve Got A Friend” *
5. “Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)” *
6. “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” *
7. “Jealous Guy” *
8. “I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know” *
9. “Hey Girl” *
10. “The Ghetto” *

Disc Four: Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway Duets
1. “I (Who Have Nothing)”
2. “You’ve Got A Friend”
3. “Baby I Love You”
4. “Be Real Black For Me”
5. “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling”
6. “For All We Know”
7. “Where Is The Love”
8. “When Love Has Grown”
9. “Come Ye Disconsolate”
10. “Mood”
11. “The Closer I Get To You”
12. “You Are My Heaven”
13. “Back Together Again”

* Previously Unreleased


September 29th Declared Curtis Mayfield Day In Illinois


Illinois Governor Pat Quinn has declared September 29th as Curtis Mayfield Day in Illinois. The late Chicago born singer-songwriter will now have a long overdue day in his honor.

Read Full Story by David Hoekstra (Chicago Sun-Times)